top of page
Production Blog: Blog2
Search

The Final Splash

13/12/2018

 

So after three months of planning, interviewing and editing my radio documentary is finally ready to be uploaded, so I thought I would take the time to highlight some difficulties along the way.


First of all, from the outset my angle seemed to be a bit too niche. As discussed in my pitch, it was too narrow and could have made the whole documentary lifeless and a little boring. I wanted to make my documentary both interesting and engaging. After all, the project was focusing on the non-alcoholic trend so I wanted it to be a little more up lifting. So I knuckled down and tried to open up my story. After finding out that the first ever non-alcoholic spirit was released in 2015 I wanted to know the stories behind these spirits and how they are made. Indeed, alcohol is a very powerful ingredient so I asked "how can you make a spirit without any alcohol?" This put me on a very interesting path which helped in the creation of my documentary and enabled it to be more engaging.


I wanted to make sure the tone was consistent throughout. To do this I asked the interviewees what there inspiration was when creating their business. This lead to some quite heart-warming stories that made the project that much more engaging.


To keep up with the tone, I thought I would do a taste test with an alcoholic gin and tonic and a non-alcoholic one. Of course, I made sure all participants were above 18 years old. However, putting these in the documentary wasn't easy. I wanted it to flow from person to person without any splits or jitters which required time and effort, but I managed to edit them down in the end to a point that I am proud of.


From working behind a bar for the past three years I am personally invested in the bartending industry which is one of the main inspiring factors for the creation of this documentary.


I thoroughly enjoyed the creation of this documentary and thank everyone who participated. But for now, time for a drink...perhaps one with alcohol.


Enjoy the documentary!

Recent Posts

See All

Making a Splash

13/12/2018 So, here it is the final product. I hope you enjoy.

Interview with Dry Drinker

28/11/2018 I spoke to Stuart, founder of The Dry Drinker. A place that solely sells non-alcoholic beverages. Currently it is selling a vast amount of non-alcoholic beers and also sells wines, ciders a

bottom of page